October 2022

Unified Patent Court appoints judges

The Administrative Committee of the Unified Patent Court has announced the names of 34 legal and 51 technical judges who will take office when the UPC Agreement enters into force.

The court will be headed by Klaus Grabinski (DE) as President of the UPC Court of Appeal and Florence Butin (FR) as President of the Court of First Instance. The Presidium will be completed by Rian Kalden (NL), Ingeborg Simonsson (SE), Camille Lignieres (FR), Ronny Thomas (DE) and Peter Tochtermann (DE).

The eagerly awaited and now announced appointment of the legal and technical judges now also concretises the structure of the Unified Patent Court in terms of the future panels. The judges appointed will leave their own mark on the young system with the future case law of the first months and years and set an important course.

The complete list of all appointed judges can be found here.

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to provide and analyse our services. By continuing to use the site, you consent to this use. In our privacy policy you will learn more about the use of your data and your rights.

Save Cancel Accept Reject Privacy policy